January 15 – introducing one new kitchen

kitchen finishedIt’s sparkling and I love it. Take some minimalist and cheap-ish Howdens kitchen units, add a smart quartz worktop (with little pieces of glittery silver in it) and cherry red glass splashbacks, rough beams, an underheated wooden floor…and you’ve got my ideal kitchen. I’ve saved around £18k by not going for designer units from one of those smart little kitchen shops, but I have added in some nice little extras that bring it up to the same standard as the dream kitchens I would have liked. I am very happy.

I love love love the quartz worktop (from GraniteZone, which I found on eBay), the red glass splashback (from County Glass, the curly whirly tap with a pull-out spray like a shower (Bristan Target Monobloc Sink Mixer Tap online from Discount Heating), the separate boiling water tap (which means no more annoying kettles), underfloor heating and the oak beams. The underfloor heating means you can go around with bare feet and still feel toasty warm. The dogs like it too.
kitchen done 3